Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress (TMC) today continued its all-conquering run in the state after bagging all seven seats in urban local bodies polls. The elections were held on August 13.

Special Correspondent

Meanwhile, former ruling bloc the Left led by CPIM and Congress have faced an absolute drubbing in these elections. With Panchayat polls scheduled to take place in 2018, these results assume significance.

The BJP won six seats in three municipalities which included four in Dhupguri in north Bengal and one each in Buniyadpur (north Bengal) and Panskura in south Bengal, according to the results of the August 13 civic elections.

In Haldia municipality, once considered as a Left bastion, the TMC won all the 29 wards securing more than 50 per cent of the total votes polled.

Of the 16 seats in Dhupguri municipality in north Bengal, the TMC won 12 seats while the BJP captured four.

Out of the 14 wards in Buniyadpur, also in north Bengal, the TMC won 13 wards and the BJP bagged one seat.

In Nalhati municipality, the TMC won 14 of the 16 wards, while the Left Front and an independent candidate won one ward each.

In 18-member Panskura municipality, the TMC won 17 wards and the BJP managed to secure one ward.

The TMC also won the by-election in a ward in Jhargram municipality.

The BJP and RSS conducted multi protests post riot survey and street marches blaming west bengal CM but the might effort failed to give any results has send worrisome signals to party cadres and head command in Delhi party bjp sources added.