AAP won by a margin of 24052 votes. The BJP garnered 35,834 votes while the Congress got 31,919 votes. This means the Congress has more than doubled its tally of votes over the 2015 assembly elections while the BJP saw its number of votes plummet almost by half.

Special Correspondent

The AAP fielded party volunteer Ram Chandra, who had contested assembly polls from Bawana in 2008 on a BSP ticket. The Congress fielded party veteran and three-time MLA from Bawana Surender Kumar.

VVPAT (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail) has been used and we're thankful for that. BJP will now be removed," Delhi minister Satyendar Jain said.

Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari said it’s time to analyse why the party failed to win the election. “The fact is that AAP has managed to retain the seat. We made every possible effort to snatch it but could not succeed. We will look into the issues and take corrective measures. We should learn from our failures and we will certainly take it as a lesson,” he said.

The grand old party Congress number of votes increased from 14,000 odd votes in 2015 assembly elections to 31,919 votes in the bypoll.

“The vote share has been increasing for Congress party. It increased from 12% to 38% in Rajouri Garden bypoll. Similarly, the vote share of the party also increased in municipal elections as compared to 2015 assembly. It’s a positive sign for the party,” a Delhi Congress leader said.