Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and former Union Minister P Chidambaram didn't sign the motion seeking the impeachment of Chief Justice Dipak Misra.

Special Correspondent

To that BJP MP Subramaian Swamy said "Withdraw this idiotic thing".

The jain commission indicted BJP leader Swamy in Rajiv murder case said there was a "clear division" within the Congress between the old order and the "pro-Rahul lobby".

The old older - like Manmohan Singh - "knows it will only embarrass the Congress," Swamy said. "That's why they didn't sign it".

But Congress sources denied this and attributed that Manmohan Singh isn't against the move, but his signature wasn't sought because he's an ex-PM and Misra became a Supreme Court judge during his tenure, a top Congress source said.

As for Chidambaram, the source said that there are court cases against him and his son, so it would have seemed vindictive in nature if he'd signed the motion.

Special Correspondent

Digvijaya Singh, the former Madhya Pradesh chief minister, was participating in the Narmada Yatra, so he didn't sign either.

Out of the 71 lawmakers who've signed, seven have retired. So that brings the count to 64.

The first signatory was Ghulam Nabi Azad, the leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha.

The Congress and other Opposition parties met Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Friday, and submitted the motion to him.

Special Correspondent

Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi later said the Congress knows the impeachment motion won't be passed, and that it would be an "embarrassment" for the Grand Old Party.

Whereas Political observers said this move if not admitted by Naidu then can be used ad political platform by congress to settle score with bjp,

And if it admitted means it will bring huge embarrassment for BJP as the charges listed against Supreme Court Cheif judge has put not only him in a tight spot but ruling benches too.