Firing by the police claimed 13 lives while the police assault and riots left more than 150 persons injured.

Special Correspondent

On Friday district collector Sandeep Nanduri ordered transfer of two officers in the rank of zonal deputy tahsildars within the district. Their transfer is among the six other transfers issued in the same order that day. M Kannan, zonal deputy tahsildar of Tuticorin, was transferred as the zonal deputy tahsildar of Kayathar.

P Sekar, the deputy tahsildar (election) in Tuticorin, has been transferred as the zonal deputy tahsildar of Srivaikuntam.

On Wednesday, zonal excise officer S Chandran (divisional excise officer) was transferred and posted as special tahsildar for city tax collection. His transfer was among the three such transfers ordered in the district that day.

Special Correspondent

According to the FIRs registered by the Tuticorin district police, firing began after the mob turned violent on May 22 and 23 based on the directions of the three officers mentioned.

The FIR stated that Sekar ordered firing at the collectorate on May 22 morning, while Kannan ordered the firing at Therespuram the same evening. Chandran ordered the firing at Anna Nagar the following day.

However revenue officials said these officials were not targeted in the transfers and they didn’t find fault with it.

Transfer of officials involved in the incident began with then district collector N Venkatesh and then superintendent of police P Mahendran being shunted out on May 24.

A few days later, Hariharan, the inspector of SIPCOT police station that has jurisdiction over the collectorate where the firing began, was transferred.

Read also:UN experts condemn deadly police response call for probe