Sterlite said on Wednesday a sulphuric acid leak from a tank at its copper smelter in Tamil Nadu was severe and inaction could lead to serious environmental consequences.

Special Correspondent

President Ram Nath Kovind who is currently overseas on an official trip has formally approved the imposition of Governor's rule in the state of Jammu and Kashmir.

Kovind, who is currently in Suriname gave the nod after Governor NN Vohra forwarded his report to him.

The step comes after BJP pulled out of its alliance with PDP in the state, leaving Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti with no option but to resign given her party’s lack of numerical strength. National Conference the third biggest party in the Assembly and the Congress both said they would not partner with any party to form government in the state. The BJP had said, while bowing out, that it favours Governor’s rule.

A Raj Bhavan spokesman said that after concluding consultations with all the major political parties in J&K, Governor Vohra forwarded his report for imposition of Governor’s rule under Section 92 of the Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir. The move was a merely, as unlike other governors, Vohra has to inform the President and not seek his approval, given J&K’s special status. This would be the eighth time that Governor’s rule would be imposed in the state since 1977.

This is the fourth time that Governor's rule has been imposed with NN Vohra in charge.

Earlier, instances were in 2008 post the fall of PDP-Congress government over Amarnath row, in 2015 when elections had thrown up a hung assembly and in 2016 last time the state was put under the central rule on January 8, 2016 after allies the PDP and the BJP deferred the government formation process following the death of Mufti Sayeed. It came to an end after Mehbooba Mufti was sworn in as the chief minister on April 4, 2016.

Vohra is a retired 1959 batch IAS officer of the Punjab cadre. During his IAS tenure he served as Principal Secretary to PM of India, Home Secretary, Defence Secretary and Defence Production Secretary of India. He was awarded the Padma Vibhushan for civil service in 2007.

Read Also: BJP kicks alliance bucket in Kashmir also