BCCCI India n teams beat New Zealand by six runs to win the third T20 and clinch the series 2-1. This is India’s first-ever T20 series win against New Zealand.

Special Correspondent

The Final T20 game with New Zealand cricket team was reduced to eight-overs-a-side due to rain as international cricket returned to Thiruvananthapuram after a gap of 29 years.

New Zealand won the toss and opt to bowl but Indian batsmen batting failed, but the bowlers, backed by excellent fielding, guided India past New Zealand by six runs in Thiruvananthapuram on Tuesday to claim the three-match Twenty20 International series 2-1.

After setting a modest target of 68 runs after rain forced the start of the third and deciding T20 to be delayed by two-and-a-half hours, India restricted the Black Caps to 61/6 at the Greenfield Stadium, which on Tuesday became India’s 50th international cricket venue.

A sharp bowling performance from New Zealand had restricted India at 67/5. Indian batsmen were also partly to blame as they tried to go for the big shots from the word go.

Score Card :
India67-5 (8 overs)
Top Run : Pandey 17
Top wicket : Southee (2-13)

New Zealand61-6 (8 overs)
Top Run : de Grandhomme 17*
Top Wicket : Bumrah (2-9)

Man of the Match and Man of the Series: Jasprit Bumrah.